Totalkare clients win big at glitzy UK Bus Awards ceremony

uk bus awards

Totalkare celebrated the success of numerous clients last week as they won bronze, silver and gold prizes at the annual UK Bus Awards.

The event, held at The Troxy in London and compered by BBC News’ Jane Hill, welcomed the great and the good of the bus industry who were gathered to celebrate the excellent work and achievements of the standout performers over the past 12 months.

The big winner was Nottingham City Transport, winning the Top City Operator and UK Bus Operator of the Year awards, while Managing Director Mark Fowles was singled out for the Services to the Bus Industry award.  In addition, HR Admin Manager Sheila Swift and Driver Jatinder Kumar were named Unsung Hero and Top National Bus Driver of the Year respectively.

Nottingham City Transport recently reinforced its commitment to developing their staff with the purchase of Totalkare’s online mobile column lift training for its workshop operatives.

Elsewhere, Stagecoach Cumbria & North Lancashire were named Top Shire Operator and Ensignbus were awarded the Top Independent Operator prize, while operators including Abellio London, Oxford Bus Company, Translink, Metroline, Arriva and Stagecoach were each recognised across a wide range of award categories.

Totalkare would like to congratulate the winners, runners up and all those shortlisted and look forward to another excellent year for the industry in 2020.

The full list of winners is below:

Bus & The Community Award

Gold – Oxford Bus Company (Brand the Bus)

Silver – Translink (Stuff a Bus)

Bronze – Metroline (School Library Bus)

Environment Award

Gold – The Harrogate Bus Company (Harrogate Electrics)

Silver – Stagecoach South (Guildford Park & Ride Electric Buses)

Bronze – Go South Coast – Bluestar (The UK’s first Air-Filtering Bus)

Innovation in Road Safety Award

Gold – Arriva Yorkshire (Driving a Strong Safety Culture)

Silver – Abellio London (Mobileye)

Bronze – Translink (Glider Driver Training Programme)

New Horizons Award

Gold – Abellio London (Mobileye)

Silver – Omnibus (CrewPLAN)

Bronze – West Berkshire Council (Newbury e-Paper Next Bus Pilot)

Making Buses a Better Choice Award

Gold – Translink (Glider)

Silver – Oxford Bus Company (PickMeUp)

Bronze – First West of England (Metrobus Bristol)

Cultural Change Award

Gold – National Express West Midlands (Master Driver)

Silver – Oxford Bus Company (Cultural Change Journey)

Bronze – Stagecoach West (West Wellbeing)

Marketing Initiative of the Year Award

Gold – Stagecoach Yorkshire & Partners (Stimulating Senior Bus Travel)

Silver – Visit Isle of Wight (Explore by Bus)

Bronze – Lothian (Cruiselink Services)

Sustained Marketing Excellence Award

Gold – First West of England (Going for Growth)

Silver – Uno (People Against Ordinary)

Bronze – Stagecoach East Scotland (Express City Connect)

Young Manager of the Year Award

Gold – Stagecoach Manchester (Jack Abbott)

Silver – Go South Coast – Bluestar (Kerrie Grant)

Bronze – Arriva Kent and Surrey (Adam Green)

Engineer of the Year Award

Gold – Warrington’s Own Buses (Stephen Stringer)

Silver – Stagecoach Manchester (Jack Abbott)

Bronze – Translink (Paul Stanley)

Leader of the Year Award

Gold – Translink (Damian Bannon)

Silver – Arriva Midlands (Raj Chander)

Bronze – Abellio London (Urvi Patel)

Top National Bus Driver Award

Gold – Nottingham City Transport (Jatinder Kumar)

Silver – First Cymru (Keith Thomas)

Bronze – Stagecoach West (Gurnam Singh)

Unsung Heroes Award

Gold – Nottingham City Transport (Sheila Swift)

Commendations for Outstanding Service – RATP Dev London (Chuck Ejakita, Eddie Hollis & Roy Barratt),

Metroline (Mitesh Patel), Trentbarton (Craig Trueman)

Services to the Bus Industry Award

Nottingham City Transport – Mark Fowles

Top London Bus Driver Award

Gold – RATP Dev London (Wasiq Ali)

Silver – Abellio London (Nick Kukaj)

Bronze – Go-Ahead London (Peter Huttly)

London Bus Garage of the Year Award

Gold – Arriva London (Norwood)

Silver – Stagecoach London (Romford)

Bronze – Go-Ahead London (Croydon)

Top National Depot Award

Gold – Stagecoach East Scotland (Blairgowie)

Silver – Reading Buses (Reading)

Bronze – Go South Coast – Swindon’s Bus Company (Swindon)

Top City Operator Award

Gold – Nottingham City Transport

Silver – Brighton & Hove Buses

Bronze – Stagecoach Manchester

Top Shire Operator Award

Gold – Stagecoach Cumbria & North Lancashire

Silver – Stagecoach East Scotland

Bronze – Oxford Bus Company

Top Independent Operator Award

Gold – Ensignbus

Silver – Prentice Coaches

Bronze – Courtney Buses

UK Bus Operator of the Year Award

Gold – Nottingham City Transport

Silver – Stagecoach Cumbria & North Lancashire

Bronze – Ensignbus